Cluttered Box

5 Ways to Flip your Bad Mood

agl_ihatepeopleEveryone has those days when even the smallest tasks look like massive chores – especially if you are at work. Whether it is an egotistical manager, an annoying friend or chewing gum wrapper thrown in the ladies room, anything can trigger a bad day. Trust me, you’re not alone in feeling moody – sometimes there is no reason for being difficult. You don’t need an excuse to vent out your frustration or anger! Most days I am as bright and happy as a kid who just discovered chocolate, but then there are those days when I literally cannot deal with people.

However – it is virtually impossible to just let your bad moods to come by and conquer you. No sir-ee, you have to tackle them head on to flip your mood around. There are no days when you can just be in a bad mood – there are only moments, don’t let your emotions get the best of you – we’re stronger than that.

My advice is to pick up yourself by following these simple steps & to make your mood  better:

Set a Goal:  Many people don’t realize the negative effect a bad mood. It kills your productivity, health and spreads a bad vibe around you. You have to understand the consequence of your negative attitude and try to set specific goals for your day. This not only distracts you, but it helps you to be productive and efficient.

healthysnacks-736282

Healthy Snack: The wonders of a healthy snack are often overlooked and it really is a shame. Eating a snack full of vitamin C, minerals and fibre enhances your focus and boosts your energy levels, for example: banana, cereal and apples. Sitting in a stagnant and negative environment all day can often worsen your mood, so eat a snack to shift your focus and help you re-start your system with a positive outlook.

Walk it off: One of the best methods of changing your mood is through taking a short break and bringing in some perspective. I personally find that going for a 5-7 minute around the block does wonders for me as it gives me an opportunity to get away from everything and realize how silly I am being (really, it does work!) Fresh air and bit of space is the best way to lift your mood, so don’t underestimate the power of a simple stroll (or a run, if you feel really frustrated)

Mother's Day 2012_ Bath

Reward Yourself: Looking forward to something helps you re-focus your attention onto something positive. Reward yourself, whether it is a trip to the bakery after work or a hot bubble bath at home, treating yourself will help make your day bearable and make it pass by faster.

Get Away: Bad moods can take a toll on your life so it is important that you get rid of all your negative energy and worries ASAP. If you are at work, leave your problems at work, don’t bring them home – but if your problems stem at home, go for a drive and get away from it all – it will honestly help.

Hope these tips help you flip your bad mood around!

17 thoughts on “5 Ways to Flip your Bad Mood

  1. I cant agree more with you, when I’m having a bad day I like to relax by taking walks, fresh air clears your mind and gets you out!!

    Like

  2. I’m all about getting some daily exercise, if possible and weather permitting outside. It does wonders for my moods. Bubble bath and sometimes a small glass of wine is indulging and relaxing too!

    Like

  3. When I’m in a bad mood, I usually take a nice long shower. It really drains of the anxiety and all those bickering feelings. But another great remedy for me when I’m really down is listening to music (but eventually I fall asleep too). It helps so much. And if all else fails, I write. Its something I’ve discovered over the years. I just write what’s bothering me in a piece of paper and then throw it away. Or if I’m on the computer, I write and write and write till I feel I’ve expressed all my suppressed feelings, and then I delete the entire thing. I know, these are kind of weird, but you should try it sometime too. xoxo 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: 5 Ways To Boost Your Mood Today | Searching For The Happiness

  5. Pingback: Links You’ll Love | Moi Contre La Vie

Penny for your Thoughts...