Entertainment Box

Lessons I Learned from F.R.I.E.N.D.S

It may have been 9 years since the show ended, but I still cannot get enough of Friends. It is the one and only show that I can watch over and over again without getting bored. The entertainment level is incredible, the jokes are funny and the characters are timeless. As my favorite TV show, it has set a bar for the years to come – with no sitcom even reaching it’s level.

Here are the lessons that I learned by watching Friends:

A ‘Break’ is not a Break-Up

When Ross and Rachel go on a break – it is just that – a break. It is in no way a break up, but more of a recess from fighting. Personally, I always sided with Rachel on this one since Ross was out of line by hooking up with someone the same day – irrespective of his grief. So lesson learnt – always clarify and consider the consequences of yours actions.

Jelly Fish Stings can be Cured by Number 1

I actually did not know this one until I watched Friends. When Monica is stung by jelly fish, the only cure Joey and Chandler can think of is a cure they saw on television. Interesting fact is, that this is an actual remedy for jellyfish stings and does indeed work. What I loved about this episode was the awkwardness that followed between the 3 friends:

Cups and Ice can Make or Break a Party

When planning Rachel’s surprise birthday party, Monica (being a control freak) organizes the majority of the event leaving Phoebe in charge of the smallest thing – cups and ice. Taking it into her own hands, Phoebe takes this responsibility seriously and make the most of it – with snow cones and 3 different types of ice! Lesson here was: make the most with what you got, no matter how insignificant it may be 🙂

Dressing up Makes you Feel Good

Monica, Phoebe and Rachel all don wedding gowns for this episode – with none of them getting married. The dressing up as brides is a way to take a break from reality and feel good about themselves. Regardless of what you are going through, just pick yourself up, wear a nice dress and try to just let everything else go. Lesson learnt!

Everybody has a Lobster

Despite being a pessimist in love, I definitely agree with Phoebe’s theory about finding your lobster. Ross and Rachel, Monica and Chandler, and Phoebe and Mike – they all find their lobsters and live happily.

Now it’s not possible to sum up all the lessons we learned from Friends, but these are the most memorable ones for me. Feel free to add other ones to the post and share your memories from this epically awesome show!

84679-friends-friends-646x363

5 thoughts on “Lessons I Learned from F.R.I.E.N.D.S

  1. I miss F.R.I.E.N.D.S so much! True, I’ll never get bored no matter how long it repeats. And I totally agree, behind all the fun and comic, there’s always a justified lesson! ❤

    Like

  2. Pingback: The One with the Writing Errors – slimegreen

Penny for your Thoughts...